Originally built on top of the L-shaped Temple, the remains of the Temple of the Obelisks were moved by archaeologists to their present location. The temple that dates back to the middle Bronze Age (1900-1600 B.C.) is known for its standing obelisks and the 1,306 offerings to the gods that were uncovered. Among the offerings are the iconic human figurines made of bronze, copper or silver, covered with gold leaf on display at the National Museum of Beirut. These are usually male and nude figurines wearing a helmet or a conical headdress which resembles the Egyptian crown. This indicates a close relationship between Egypt and Byblos. Today they are the symbol of the site of Jbeil.